top of page
Search

Self RealisationšŸ§˜šŸ½ā€ā™€ļø

AlohašŸ‘‹šŸ½

On Friday, I decided to take a little break from social media, for maybe just a few weeks or even a month, if possible. I was talking with my dad that day and he told me that social media isnā€™t all bad. Sometimes itā€™s good to be on social media to get the information you otherwise wouldnā€™t have researched regularly and to avoid being on the verge of naivety. But sometimes you just need to take a break; take off time for yourself and get your life together.


So basically, I read about self-realization not too long ago and thatā€™s what Iā€™ve decided to do with my little social media break. I donā€™t need a break for my quest but Iā€™m doing it to avoid distractions and to make sure I donā€™t back down. So, for now, no WhatsApp, Instagram or Snapchat (Iā€™m pretty sure my mom will be so glad because she thinks thatā€™s practically all I do on the internetšŸ™„)

Iā€™ve heard of self-realization before now but never really gave the term any thought so I never knew what it meant. To be honest, I havenā€™t fully grasped it yet, but at least I have an idea. Self-realization is realizing the truth about who you are, what you are, and what your purpose is. In simpler terms, itā€™s the understanding of who you are and what you stand for. I never thought this was a problem but then I thought about my life and figuredā€¦I donā€™t really know myself.



I want to be a doctor when I grow up, but aside that, I have no idea what I want to do with my life. I donā€™t know if Iā€™m going to write a blog forever, I did consider starting a vlog but I need to put more thought into that. There is a lot I donā€™t understand about myself especially when it comes to emotions.

Sometimes I just want to be absorbed in myself and to be alone (is that selfish? šŸ¤”). I feel itā€™s not compulsory to be happy all the time. Itā€™s okay to be sad and to want to be left alone. Afterall what are all those emotions for šŸ¤·šŸ½ā€ā™€ļø? As long as your emotions donā€™t get you or anyone hurt, and you can work out ways to snap out of the gloomy ones then itā€™s not all bad. Most of the time, I just listen to music and sometimes it gives me the inspiration to write. Most of my friends prefer hip hop or rap but I prefer the more subtle kind of music. Some of my all-time favourites are ā€œTruth be toldā€ by ā€œMatthew Westā€, ā€œOceansā€ by ā€œHillsongā€, ā€œWho am I?ā€ by ā€œCasting Crownsā€ and ā€œRise Upā€ by ā€œAndra Dayā€


Other times, Iā€™m just happy, for no reason. My family and close friends call me weird most timesšŸ˜‚ I laugh about literally everything except when Iā€™m really angry or not in the mood but I have to admit, I can be really annoyingšŸ¤­. Iā€™m very active; always running, jumping, skipping or even dancing. My mom has often complained that this can be very irritating as I just canā€™t seem to sit still and Iā€™ve been like that since I was a baby. I remember once when my siblings and I had to stay with my grandma for a whilešŸ‘€ (a story for another day). We were asked by our Bible club to help raise money for a certain charity by giving up something we usually do every day, for an entire week and have people pledge to give us money for every successful day. Hmmā€¦ while others chose not to ride their bicycles or eat a particular food, I said I wouldnā€™t skip for a week. I had barely told my grandma my plans before I handed the fundraising form to her and skipped all the way homešŸ˜…. Well, that was the end of my fundraising plan. I think at the end of that week my grandma just put some money in an envelope just so I could present because I just kept skipping.


Sometimes though, I just get a complete change of mood from happy to sad, then back to happy without even knowing why. Mom says itā€™s just teenage hormones and Iā€™ll be fine. It just seems like my brain just flips and emotions take a U-turn. My emotions are an aspect of my life I need to understand and control.


Well, after my whole self-realization quest, I want to move on to self-actualization. Thatā€™s achieving what you believe your destiny or purpose in life is. I mean, whatā€™s the point of realizing yourself and doing nothing about it. I think self-realization further leads to God-realization (if thatā€™s a thing). Getting closer to God, studying His word and breaking it down, understanding the whole concept of Christianity (being Christ-like), and developing the kind of faith in God that I need to fulfil my purpose on earthā€¦these are some of the things I want to actualize in my life.


In general, I want to be the best version of me, to make an impact in this world but also not forgetting to take care of myself and to do whatā€™s good for me (without hurting others though). I hope I can achieve my realisation goals by the end of my little break. Iā€™ll let you know how it goes.


Thatā€™s all for today. Thank you all for your consistency. Please make sure to like, share, subscribe and comment. Godā€™s blessings all the way and do stay safešŸŒ¹

81 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Way Back WhenšŸ˜Ŗ

AlohašŸ‘‹šŸ½ Itā€™s been over a year since I posted something here and I canā€™t even begin to apologizešŸ˜«. To be very honest, it has been so...

2 komentarze


Zaraaa
Zaraaa
29 sie 2020

You know, what really resonated within me was the line you stated that being happy all the time is not very compulsory.

That's one of the reasons I appreciate and look forward to your entries. There is always that one statement that just sits perfectly well with me. Thank you, Zina.

Polub

It's mastering to know yourself. Knowing others is intelligence but knowing yourself is true wisdom and true power.

Polub
bottom of page