top of page
Search

NOSTALGIA

AlohašŸ‘‹šŸ½ I know this might come off as a little bit strange but thereā€™s this YouTube channel that Iā€™m absolutely obsessed with. Itā€™s called Aperture. Okay, let me not say obsessed but I love it. I donā€™t really know how to explain what the channel is really about, but the guyā€¦I know not his nameā€¦seems really smart and has quite a soothing voice. Iā€™ll leave the rest to your curiosity or whatever.

Anyway, in one of his videos, ā€˜The Nostalgia Effectā€™, he was talking about Nostalgiaā€¦OBVIOUSLYšŸ˜. Nostalgia is more or less like reminiscing about your past. But the Aperture guy made me realize that Nostalgia wasnā€™t always a normal thing. In the 17th century, Nostalgia used to be considered a mental disorder. They used to think ā€œWhy on earth would anyone think about their past and want to go back to it?ā€ I totally cannot relate to their thinking, but then in the 18th century, I think, one guy called Constantine (No, not Lucifer Constantine) had this nostalgic feeling about his former home and when he told his friend, who studied psychology, his friend wrote him off a depressed. Blah blah blah...you probably donā€™t want to know all this but if you do, go watch his videos.

I think everyone goes through the nostalgia effect, and we all feel it once in a while. Thinking about your past and youā€™re like ā€œMehn, I miss the old daysā€; going through pictures and remembering how life used to be; watching something that gives you a hint of when you were younger, or a faint smell that send you back to the before days. Nostalgia comes in different ways. It comes because of our memories. You obviously canā€™t have a nostalgic feeling of memory youā€™ve never had and that made me think of something, n0t completely related to nostalgia but Iā€™m going to say it anyway. We are who we are because of the decisions we have made from what life has thrown at us, get it. GoodšŸ‘šŸ½

Back to Nostalgia. Remember my last post on ā€˜Remind me to Forgetā€™? If you did listen to the song, it would have most likely given you a nostalgic feeling. Nostalgia makes you feel good sometimes. ā€œAh! The good old days!ā€ But it can make you cry and sad, thinking that your life before was better off than now.

Now let me leave you with a questionā€¦ If you had the chance, would you go back to the past, remain in the present or go into the future? Let me knowšŸ˜‰

šŸ’¬Before you go, watch his video called ā€˜This video is a lieā€™ā€¦just watch it till the end. It really confuses me but itā€™s quite interesting. Itā€™ll make you thinkā€¦and think hard. Thatā€™s what he does actually. I like it.

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Way Back WhenšŸ˜Ŗ

AlohašŸ‘‹šŸ½ Itā€™s been over a year since I posted something here and I canā€™t even begin to apologizešŸ˜«. To be very honest, it has been so difficult for me. Writing, especially poetry, used to come very

  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

©2020 by Zee's BlogšŸŒ¹

bottom of page