top of page
Search

Fashion🙌🏽✨

Aloha👋🏽


Sorry, this post is coming behind schedule. I had an exam to write, so I had to take time off to study.

After the exam, it took me a while figure out what I would write about till the day my sister decided to clean out our wardrobe and take stock of clothes we still had, sort out those we no longer wear and list out the ones we wanted (with the hope that we would get ALL soon😋). I realized then that there were many outfits I would have worn before, that I can't imagine myself wearing now.


My fashion style has changed over the past few months. It's like a mixture of all types of styles; vintage, chic, casual, trendy and tomboy. In general, I think I'm more casual than the rest. My style used to be more of leggings or jeans with a fitted t-shirt and I absolutely loved slip-on shoes but as it is now, I can't stand any fitted top anymore😣. I still like the jeans look but now with a baggy t-shirt, a casual button-up shirt, a hoodie, or a sweatshirt. I don't want those slip-ons any more, I now prefer to wear sneakers and boots. I can wear my boots and sneakers with practically anything. You haven't rocked that dress suit or Ankara gown; well till you do so with a pair of All-Star Converse or Nikes🤩. I feel so comfortable in these now and comfort should always be an important aspect of fashion. Don't you think?😏


I never used to like the topic of fashion and I use to wonder why some girls were always obsessed with the latest trends and stuff like that😕. I would always say "just put on anything that makes you feel and look good and go about your business abeg🥱". However, in writing this piece, I decided to read some fashion articles so that I wouldn't come here and say rubbish. I realize now that I got it all wrong.


Fashion isn't always about girls going to malls and boutiques🛒, carrying numerous shopping bags🛍, modelling, runway and the likes. Think of it like culture; fashion is a way of life and because of that…it's dynamic. It changes with the times. It's dynamic because it has to adapt to the situations that people are in. People are not static, they travel🧳, they meet with people and interact with other cultures🌍, they import customs and traditions, they learn, 'unlearn' and 'relearn'. People grow older and their fashion sense tends to change with age as well. Life events can also affect someones style. You can see this from the big difference between how people used to dress before and now. I read somewhere that “Films are the mirror to the society🎥, and therefore, a comparison is seen live by comparing how the actors used to dress before and now”.


Another thing worthy of note is the message you want to pass on with your style. I have heard so many people say 'the way you are dressed is the way you will be addressed' and I totally agree🤝🏽. If you go out wearing a suit🕴, people will most likely give you respect, likewise, if you dress like you're for the streets, you will be treated or regarded as one; getting cat-calls from some men all over the place. Someone once said, “Your clothing speaks long before you do.”  "What that means is, whether you say a word or not, what you’re wearing is talking.  Your clothing could be talking softly🔈, or it could talking very loudly🔊.  What do you want your wardrobe to be doing for you?  Or better yet, what do you want your clothes to NOT be doing for you?" My mom would always say to me that her mom (my grandma) used to say to her that someone can tell the kind of person you are in all you do. She would say, "the way you talk🗣, eat🥗, walk🚶🏽‍♀️ and even dress can tell a great deal about who you are"


Let me get you thinking. "Imagine there are two people on a plane; one dressed in a business suit, with good hair, looking sleek and another dressed in ripped jeans, with messy dreads. There is an empty seat in the first-class cabin, and the hostess wants to pick one out of the two men to sit there." The answer to who she will pick to sit there is obvious👀. The man wearing a suit looks more responsible and of a higher class so she'll most likely go for him... Just like Mary Quant said above, "people always react well to a person they like the looks of👍🏽."


My views on fashion have definitely changed and so has my style. How about yours🧐?


The bottom line is as long as you put on clothes and in any little way have a say in what you put on, then you are fashionable. Like me, your style might not be everyone's style, it might not be trending or maybe has never been in vogue, but if you like what you wear and you're comfortable and passing on the right message about who you are, then go on with it. It's in you😉. Fashion is everywhere, it’s an art and now I get why people put so much time and interest in it😊.


Yeah! That’s it for this week… I love you all so much. Thank you for your support. Please continue to like, share, and comment. And If you haven’t signed up or subscribed then please do. Bye🌹


124 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Way Back When😪

Aloha👋🏽 It’s been over a year since I posted something here and I can’t even begin to apologize😫. To be very honest, it has been so...

3 Comments


Zaraaa
Zaraaa
Sep 21, 2020

This new post was greatly anticipated. I wondered why you hadn't posted in a while😂😂😂

All the same, thank you for this update. This was beautiful as always.

Like

Zina🌹
Zina🌹
Sep 19, 2020

I hope you all enjoy. Please don't forget to like, subscribe and most importantly, share with others. Have a wonderful week🌹

Like

Abisola Uche
Abisola Uche
Sep 19, 2020

Nice one Zee👏. Always love reading your blogs💜. Informative, Educative and downright honest💫

Like
bottom of page